FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Welcome to our FAQs. Here you can find a summary of frequently asked questions, along with their answers. If your question hasn’t been included here you are welcome to get in touch with us via our contact form.

QUESTIONS ABOUT ADMISSION AND TICKETS

Different admission prices apply in the museums. You can find an overview of the admission prices for all museums via the link below.
If you would like to visit all four museums in one day, you can use the day ticket for 12 euros. Separate admission prices may apply for special exhibitions.
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

Admission is free for children and teens under the age of 18. Students and visitors over the age of 65 pay a reduced entrance fee. We additionally offer various other special concessions. 
An overview of our entrance fees and concessions can be found here.

Groups with at least 15 participants receive reduced admission if the the entire group's entry fee is paid as a whole. This ticket is not valid for all special exhibitions.
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

With the day ticket for 12 euros you can visit all five houses on one day. 
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

Currently, the 12 euro day ticket for visiting the Alte Pinakothek, Pinakothek der Moderne, Museum Brandhorst and Sammlung Schack is only available directly at our museums. 
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

Our tickets can be purchased directly at one of our museums, on the day of the visit itself, but also in advance. You can pay here in cash or by card. It is also possible to purchase regular admission tickets online via the online ticket shop of the National Museums and Collections
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

Unfortunately, vouchers or online tickets cannot be purchased from us. You are welcome to gift our annual ticket (to be purchased directly at the museum or via www.cedon.de).
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

The annual ticket is valid for the Alte Pinakothek, the Pinakothek der Moderne, the Brandhorst Museum, the Sammlung Schack  and the Branch Galleries in Bavaria. It costs 90 euros (reduced: 60 euros) and includes all special exhibitions.
You can find an overview of our admission regulations here.

QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR VISIT

The Pinakotheken and the Museum Brandhorst are open daily from Tuesday to Sunday, the Sammlung Schack from Wednesday to Sunday.
You can find an overview of our opening hours here.

In general, our museums are closed on 1 May, 24 December, 25 December and 31 December. All other closing days and public holidays on which our museums are not open can be found in this overview.
You can find an overview of our opening hours here.

The Neue Pinakothek has been closed since 2019 for structural reasons and due to extensive renovation work. A selection of masterpieces of 19th century art is on display on the ground floor of the Alte Pinakothek (east wing) and in the Sammlung Schack.

In the Alte Pinakothek, the web app "Alte Pinakothek Unframed" is your digital guide through the museum with various tours in German and English as well as tours for children and in easy language.
In the Brandhorst Museum you can borrow an audio guide in German and English free of charge. Audioguides cannot be reserved in advance. In the Pinakothek der Moderne, the Pinakothek der Moderne App is available free of charge. Unfortunately, there is currently no audio guide for the Sammlung Schack.

If you would like to know whether a particular painting is currently on display, please check our Online Collection. There you can also find descriptive texts and further details about the individual works. 
Click here for the online collection.
Here is more information on the collection.

In the Pinakothek museums, the Brandhorst Museum and the Sammlung Schack, photographs may be taken for private purposes without a tripod or flash. In general, editorial and commercial photography and filming are possible in the museums of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen. Please consult the press area for information on filming and photo requests.

We recommend arriving by public transport, as there are no parking spaces available in the immediate vicinity of the museums. In addition, there is an orientation plan for each museum to help you find your way around. An overview of the respective arrival options and orientation plans can be found under the pages of the individual houses.
Information on how to get to the Alten Pinakothek.
Information on how to get to the Pinakothek der Moderne.
Information on how to get to the Museum Brandhorst.
Information on how to get to the Sammlung Schack.
Information on the Branch Galleries.

Only a limited number of lockers are available. Larger pieces of luggage may not be able to be stored. We therefore recommend that you refrain from using backpacks and larger bags (size over DIN A4 format) during your visit. 1- or 2-euro coins are required for the lockers. 

There is an open checkroom in the Sammlung Schack without liability. Bags and backpacks will be accepted by the ticket office staff and placed in the checkroom locker. 

 

In addition to contemplating the works of art on display, be sure to factor in enough time to take a breather and enjoy a tasty bite to eat. We invite you to enjoy the rich offerings of our restaurants and cafés, some of which are accessible even outside of normal museum opening hours. Or perhaps you are still looking for the perfect gift in one of our museum shops? 

 

In addition to contemplating the works of art on display, be sure to factor in enough time to take a breather and enjoy a tasty bite to eat. We invite you to enjoy the rich offerings of our restaurants and cafés, some of which are accessible even outside of normal museum opening hours. Or perhaps you are still looking for the perfect gift in one of our museum shops? 

In addition to contemplating the works of art on display, be sure to factor in enough time to take a breather and enjoy a tasty bite to eat. We invite you to enjoy the rich offerings of our restaurants and cafés, some of which are accessible even outside of normal museum opening hours. Or perhaps you are still looking for the perfect gift in one of our museum shops? Information on the various museum cafés can be found on the  visit pages of our museums.
Alte Pinakothek
Pinakothek der Moderne
Museum Brandhorst

QUESTIONS ABOUT GUIDED TOURS AND REGISTRATION

All public art education programmes and registration information can be found in our programme calendar
You can book additional guided tours via our online contact form.

Unless otherwise stated in the description in the programme calendar, there is no need to register for our public tours. For guided tours with a limited number of participants, participation wristbands are normally handed out at the ticket office 30 minutes before the tour begins. However, there is no guarantee of participation. Please inform yourself about the respective event via our programme
You can book additional guided tours via our online contact form.

Workshops, children's tours and family tours are usually limited to a certain number of participants. You can register at programm@pinakothek.de. Occasionally there are also open programmes for which you do not need to register. Please check our programme for information on the individual offers.

 

We are happy to arrange a guide for your private tour. You can choose between different thematic focuses, overview tours and tours of special exhibitions. Please book your guided tour via our online contact form.

 

Please register your groups, even if you do not wish to book guided tours. You can find more information here under "Register group".

 

Please understand that we do not offer guided tours outside opening hours. You can book a guided tour within opening hours via our online contact form, see also here.

 

Please register your school group's visit by sending an email to buchung@pinakothek.de. School groups from the EU and the accompanying teachers receive free admission to our museums upon presentation of appropriate proof. Guided tours (for foreign-language school groups, for example) can be booked using our booking form. 

QUESTIONS ABOUT US

In Munich, the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen (Bavarian State Painting Collections) include the Alte Pinakothek, the Neue Pinakothek, the Pinakothek der Moderne, the Brandhorst Museum and the Schack Collection. You can find an overview of our Branch Galleries throughout Bavaria here.  

 

Please understand that the rooms of our museums are not available for rentals. We focus on the development and implementation of a diverse cultural program - matching the individual museums and ongoing exhibitions.

 

With our newsletter we inform you about exhibitions, openings, special events and our education and outreach programme. Please sign up for our general newsletter here (only in german). For a separate newsletter with art education programmes for adults or children and families, please email programm@pinakothek.de.

 

Students of art history and related subjects generally have the opportunity to complete internships of up to three months in various departments of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, if required and under certain conditions. If you are interested, please send a brief application with the usual documents by email to the Human Resources Department. Unfortunately, we do not offer internships for school students.
A scientific traineeship at the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen can only be completed within the framework of a traineeship at the state collections and museums in Munich. Vacancies are advertised on the website of the Deutscher Museumsbund (German Museums Association). There you will also find more detailed information on the requirements and the course of the traineeship.

 

Please inform yourself about current vacancies here.

OTHER QUESTIONS

In the Pinakothek museums, the Brandhorst Museum and the Sammlung Schack, photographs may be taken for private purposes without a tripod or flash. In general, editorial and commercial photography and filming are possible in the museums of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen. Please consult the press area for information on filming and photo requests.

 

The holdings of works of art in the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen are documented in approx. 20,000 black-and-white photographs as well as a large number of colour photographs in high resolution for reproduction purposes.
Order your image or file in the photo orders section.

 

Exhibition catalogues can be purchased directly in one of our museum shops or online at www.cedon.de or www.buchhandlung-walther-koenig.de.

 

You can find an overview of our collection catalogues and publications here (in german).

 

Due to the infection control measures that began in 2020, the appraisal of paintings in the Neue Pinakothek had to be discontinued. However, the renovation of the building as well as data protection regulations do not allow for a continuation of the painting appraisal. If you have any questions about the authentication or value of a painting, please contact the art dealer or one of the publicly appointed and sworn experts. The names and addresses can be found in the local directory of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce.

FAQ

Häufige Fragen

Herzlich Willkommen auf unserer Übersicht zu den FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions). Hier finden Sie einen Überblick an häufig gestellten Fragen sowie die passenden Antworten dazu. Falls Ihre Frage nicht dabei ist, können Sie uns gerne über das Kontaktformular erreichen.

Fragen zu Eintritt und Tickets

In den einzelnen Häusern gelten unterschiedliche Eintrittspreise. Eine Übersicht der Eintrittspreise aller Museen finden Sie über unten aufgeführten Link.
Wenn Sie an einem Tag alle vier Museen besuchen möchten, können Sie das Tagesticket für 12 Euro nutzen. Für Sonderausstellungen können gesonderte Eintrittspreise gelten.
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Kinder und Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren erhalten freien Eintritt. Studierende sowie Besucher über 65 zahlen den ermäßigten Eintritt. Darüber hinaus ermöglichen wir zahlreiche weitere Sonderermäßigungen.  
Eine Übersicht über unserer Eintrittsregelungen und Ermäßigungen finden Sie hier.

Gruppen mit mindestens 15 Teilnehmenden erhalten ermäßigten Eintritt, wenn der Eintritt der gesamten Gruppen geschlossen gezahlt wird. Dieses Ticket gilt nicht bei allen Sonderausstellungen.
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Mit dem Tagesticket für 12 Euro können Sie alle vier Häuser an einem Tag besuchen. 
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Derzeit ist das 12 Euro-Tagesticket für den Besuch der Alten Pinakothek, Pinakothek der Moderne, Museum Brandhorst und Sammlung Schack nur direkt in unseren Museen erhältlich. 
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Unsere Tickets können direkt in einem unserer Museen gekauft werden, am Besuchstag selbst, aber auch im Voraus. Sie können hier bar oder mit Karte bezahlen. Ebenso besteht die Möglichkeit, online über den Online-Ticketshop der Staatlichen Museen und Sammlungen reguläre Eintrittskarten zu erwerben. 
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Gutscheine oder Online-Tickets können bei uns leider nicht erworben werden. Gerne können Sie unsere Jahreskarte (zu kaufen direkt im Museum oder über www.cedon.de) verschenken.
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Die Jahreskarte gilt für die Alte Pinakothek, Pinakothek der Moderne, das Museum Brandhorst, die Sammlung Schack und die Zweiggalerien. Sie kostet 90 Euro (ermäßigt 60 Euro) und beinhaltet auch alle Sonderausstellungen.
Eine Übersicht unserer Eintrittsregelungen finden Sie hier.

Fragen zum Besuch

Die Pinakotheken und das Museum Brandhorst haben täglich von Dienstag bis Sonntag geöffnet, die Sammlung Schack von Mittwoch bis Sonntag.
Eine Übersicht über unsere Öffnungszeiten finden Sie hier.

Generell gilt, dass unsere Museen am 01.05., 24.12., 25.12. sowie am 31.12. geschlossen sind. Alle weiteren Schließ- und Feiertage, an denen unseren Häuser nicht geöffnet haben, finden Sie in dieser Übersicht.
Eine Übersicht über unsere Öffnungszeiten finden Sie hier.

Die Galerie der Neuen Pinakothek ist seit 2019 aus baulichen Gründen und aufgrund umfangreicher Sanierungsmaßnahmen geschlossen. Eine Auswahl von Meisterwerken der Kunst des 19. Jahrhunderts wird im Erdgeschoss der Alten Pinakothek (Ostflügel) und in der Sammlung Schack gezeigt.

In der Alten Pinakothek ist die WebApp „Alte Pinakothek Unframed“ Ihr digitaler Begleiter durch das Museum mit verschiedenen Touren in Deutsch und Englisch sowie Rundgängen für Kinder und in leichter Sprache.
Im Museum Brandhorst können Sie einen Audioguide in Deutsch und Englisch kostenfrei ausleihen. Audioguides können nicht vorab reserviert werden. 
In der Pinakothek der Moderne steht Ihnen die Pinakothek der Moderne App kostenfrei zur Verfügung. Für die Sammlung Schack gibt es leider derzeit keinen Audioguide.

Wenn Sie wissen möchten, ob ein bestimmtes Bild zur Zeit ausgestellt ist, informieren Sie sich bitte über unsere Online-Sammlung. Dort können Sie auch Beschreibungstexte und weitere Angaben zu den einzelnen Werken finden. 
Hier geht es zur Online-Sammlung.
Hier gibt es weitere Informationen zur Sammlung.

In den Pinakotheken, im Museum Brandhorst und in der Sammlung Schack darf zu privaten Zwecken ohne Stativ und ohne Blitzlicht fotografiert werden. Generell sind redaktionelle und gewerbliche Foto- und Filmaufnahmen in den Museen der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen möglich. Bitte informieren Sie sich im Pressebreich über Dreh- und Fotoanfragen.

Wir empfehlen die Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, da in unmittelbarer Nähe der Museen keine Parkplätze zur Verfügung stehen. Darüber hinaus gibt es für jedes Haus einen Orientierungsplan, damit Sie sich besser zurecht finden.
Eine Übersicht über die jeweiligen Anreisemöglichkeiten und Orientierungspläne finden Sie jeweils unter den Seiten der einzelnen Häuser. 
Informationen zur Anfahrt der Alten Pinakothek.
Informationen zur Anfahrt der Pinakothek der Moderne.
Informationen zur Anfahrt des Museum Brandhorst.
Informationen zur Anfahrt der Sammlung Schack.
Informationen zu den Zweiggalerien.

Es stehen ausschließlich Schließfächer in begrenzter Anzahl zur Verfügung. Wir empfehlen deshalb, bei Ihrem Besuch auf Rucksäcke und größere Taschen (Umfang über DIN A4-Format) zu verzichten. Größere Gepäckstücke können ggf. nicht verwahrt werden. Für die Schließfächer werden 1- oder 2 Euro-Münzen benötigt.
In der Sammlung Schack befindet sich eine offene Garderobe ohne Haftung. Taschen und Rücksäcke werden vom Kassenpersonal entgegengenommen und im Garderobenschrank untergebracht.

Zum Besuch eines Museums gehört nicht nur die Betrachtung von Kunstwerken, sondern auch die genussvolle Pause. Besuchen Sie unsere Restaurants oder Cafés mit ihrem reichen Angebot, das Ihnen teilweise auch außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten zur Verfügung steht. Oder suchen Sie noch ein passendes Geschenk in einem unserer Museumsshops? Informationen zu den jeweiligen Museumscafés finden Sie auf den jeweiligen Besuchsseiten unserer Häuser.
Alte Pinakothek
Pinakothek der Moderne
Museum Brandhorst

Fragen zu Führungen und Anmeldungen

Alle öffentlichen Kunstvermittlungsangebote und Informationen zur Anmeldung finden Sie in unserem Programmkalender
Über unser Online-Formular können Sie weitere Führungen buchen.

Wenn nicht anders in der Beschreibung im Programmkalender angegeben, muss man sich zu unseren öffentlichen Führungen nicht anmelden. Bei Führungen mit begrenzter Teilnehmerzahl werden normalerweise ab 30 Minuten vor Führungsbeginn Teilnahmebänder an der Kasse ausgegeben. Eine Teilnahmegarantie besteht jedoch nicht. Bitte informieren Sie sich über unser Programm über die jeweilige Veranstaltung. 
Über unser Online-Formular können Sie weitere Führungen buchen.

Workshops, Kinder- und Familienführungen sind in der Regel mit begrenzter Teilnehmerzahl. Die Anmeldung erfolgt über programm@pinakothek.de. Vereinzelt finden auch offene Programme statt, zu denen man sich nicht anmelden muss. Bitte informieren Sie sich mit unserem Programm über die einzelnen Angebote.

Gerne vermitteln wir Ihnen einen Guide für Ihre private Führung. Sie können zwischen unterschiedlichen Themenschwerpunkten, Überblicksführungen und Führungen zu Sonderausstellungen wählen. Bitte buchen Sie Ihre Führung über unser Online-Formular.

Bitte melden Sie Ihre Gruppen an, auch wenn Sie keine Führungen buchen möchten. Mehr dazu unter hier unter "Gruppe anmelden".

Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir keine Führungen außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten anbieten. Eine Führung innerhalb der Öffnungszeiten können Sie über unser Online-Formular buchen.

Bitte melden Sie den Besuch Ihrer Schüler:innengruppe über unser Anmeldeformular an. Schüler:innengruppen aus der EU und die begleitenden Lehrkräfte erhalten nach Vorlage eines entsprechenden Nachweises freien Eintritt in unsere Museen. Führungen (beispielsweise für fremdsprachige Schüler:innengruppen) können Sie gerne über unser Online-Formular buchen. Das Museumspädagogische Zentrum Bayern bietet speziell Führungen für Kinder- und Schülergruppen an.

Fragen zu uns

Zu den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen gehören in München die Alte und Neue Pinakothek, die Pinakothek der Moderne, das Museum Brandhorst und die Sammlung Schack. Eine Übersicht über unsere Staatsgalerien in ganz Bayern finden Sie hier.

Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass die Räume für Vermietungen nicht zur Verfügung stehen. Wir legen den Fokus auf die Entwicklung und Umsetzung eines vielfältigen Kulturprogramms - passend zu den jeweiligen Museen und laufenden Ausstellungen.

Mit unseren Newsletter informieren wir über Ausstellungen, Eröffnungen, besondere Veranstaltungen sowie unser Programm der Bildung und Vermittlung. Bitte melden Sie sich hier zu unserem allgemeinen Newsletter an. Für einen gesonderten Newsletter mit Kunstvermittlungsprogrammen für Erwachsene bzw. Kinder und Familien schreiben Sie bitte an E-Mail an programm@pinakothek.de.

Student:innen der Kunstgeschichte und benachbarter Fächer haben grundsätzlich die Möglichkeit, bei Bedarf und unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen in verschiedenen Referaten der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen Praktika bis zu einer Dauer von drei Monaten zu absolvieren. Interessierte senden bitte eine Kurzbewerbung mit den üblichen Unterlagen per Email an die Personalabteilung. Schülerpraktika sind bei uns leider nicht möglich.
Ein wissenschaftliches Volontariat an den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen kann nur im Rahmen eines Volontariats an den staatlichen Sammlungen und Museen in München absolviert werden. Freie Stellen werden jeweils auf der Website des deutschen Museumsbundes ausgeschrieben. Dort finden Sie auch nähere Angaben zu den Voraussetzungen und zum Ablauf des Volontariats.

Bitte informieren Sie sich hier über aktuelle Stellenausschreibungen.

Sonstige Fragen

In den Pinakotheken, dem Museum Brandhorst und in der Sammlung Schack darf zu privaten Zwecken ohne Stativ und ohne Blitzlicht fotografiert werden. Generell sind redaktionelle und gewerbliche Foto- und Filmaufnahmen in den Museen der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen möglich. Bitte informieren Sie sich hier im Pressebereich über Dreh- und Fotoanfragen.

Der Bestand an Kunstwerken der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen ist in ca. 20.000 Schwarzweißfotos sowie einer großen Zahl von Farbaufnahmen in hoher Auflösung für Reproduktionszwecke dokumentiert.
Bestellen Sie Ihr Bild oder Ihre Datei im Bereich Fotobestellungen.

Ausstellungskataloge können direkt in einem unserer Museumsshops erworben werden oder online auf www.cedon.de oder www.buchhandlung-walther-koenig.de.

Eine Übersicht über unsere Bestandskataloge und Publikationen finden Sie hier.

Aufgrund der mit 2020 einsetzenden Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen musste die Bilderbegutachtung in der Neuen Pinakothek eingestellt werden. Die Sanierung des Hauses ebenso wie datenschutzrechtliche Bestimmungen lassen eine Wiederaufnahme der Bilderbegutachtung jedoch dauerhaft nicht zu. Fragen zur Authentifizierung oder zum Wert eines Gemäldes richten Sie bitte an den Kunsthandel oder wenden Sie sich an eine/einen der öffentlich bestellten und vereidigten Gutachter:innen. Die Namen und Adressen können Sie dem örtlichen Verzeichnis der Industrie- und Handelskammer entnehmen.