MIX & MATCH. REDISCOVERING THE COLLECTION

Mix & Match: August Macke & David Claerbout

August Macke (DEU *1887 – FRA 1914)
Mädchen unter Bäumen (Girls under trees), 1914
Oil on canvas, 119,5 x 159 cm
Inv. no. 13466
Acquired in 1964 as a donation from Sofie and Emanuel Fohn
Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen - Sammlung Moderne Kunst in the Pinakothek der Moderne Munich
Photo: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen

David Claerbout (BEL *1969)
Kindergarten Antonio Sant'Elia, 1932, 1998
1-channel video, black and white, without sound, 10 min., loop
Inv. no. GV 207
Acquired in 2010 by PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.
Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen – Sammlung Moderne Kunst in the Pinakothek der Moderne Munich
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Details   

MIX & MATCH. REDISCOVERING THE COLLECTION

Pinakothek der Moderne | Kunst
Room 1–4 , Room 17 (Successive opening of 25 rooms until September 2022)

 ‐ 

In the course of setting up the exhibition Mix & Match, there will be temporary room closures at the Pinakothek der Moderne until summer 2022. Step by step with the rehanging, the rooms will be reopened. This will give you an insight throughout the year into the making of our major anniversary exhibition "MIX & MATCH. Rediscovering the Collection," which will open on September 14. We look forward to your visits! 

The following rooms are currently accessible:

  • Rooms 1-4, 17 | "MIX & MATCH  
    with works by Ida Applebroog, Max Beckmann, Joseph Beuys, Aenne Biermann, David Claerbout, Lovis Corinth, Rineke Dijkstra, Otto Freundlich, Tadeusz Kantor, Paul Klee, Jochen Klein, Carl Lohse, August Macke, Martin Parr, Pablo Picasso, August Sander, Rosemarie Trockel, Adolf Ziegler,and others. 
  • Rooms 10-14 | with works by Georg Baselitz, Joseph Beuys, Florence Henri, Jenny Holzer, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Käthe Kollwitz, Germaine Krull, Maria Lassnig, Franz Marc, Paul Pfeiffer, Pablo Picasso, Gerhard Richter, Thomas Steffl, Amelie von Wulffen, and others
  • Rooms 18-20 | Joseph Beuys (room 18 and 19 accessible until probably 26.06.2022) 
  • Rooms 27-33, 35 | Slavs and Tatars, Haubitz & Zoche, Dan Flavin, Anselm Kiefer, Palermo, Robert Motherwell, Willem de Kooning, Franz Josef Kline, Robert Rauschenberg, Cy Twombly (from 20.06.2022 room 30a will be closed until further notice)
  • Room 34 | "Emil Nolde. My Way of Painting..." 

On view soon:

  • Rooms 5-9, 15-16 | "MIX & MATCH" | probably from mid of June 
    with works by Georg Baselitz, Giorgio de Chirico, Katharina Grosse, William Eggleston, Tracey Emin, Florence Henri, Axel Hütte, Wassily Kandinsky, Germaine Krull, Zoe Leonard, Olaf Metzel, Nicholas Nixon, Neo Rauch, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Fritz Winter, and others

Marking the 20th anniversary of the Pinakothek der Moderne, the curators of the Sammlung Moderne Kunst have joined heads in rehanging the collection, in a new display titled MIX & MATCH. Characterised by a spirit of curiosity and experimentation, the new hang invites visitors to rediscover the collection in themed galleries and unconventional juxtapositions that transcend epochs, styles, and media.

Key works of painting, sculpture, photography, video and installation art, and printmaking serve as the springboard into topics of vital relevance to 21st-century life, such as community, migration, work, the environment, and conflict and violence. The new hang also illuminates genres and subjects steeped in an art-historical tradition – like the nude, the self-portrait, or the forest, as well as tropes like the grotesque, the spiritual, or the irrational.

The new collection presentation features some 300 works and series spanning 120 years of art history, on view in 25 galleries. True to the idea of mixing and matching, the works were selected as snapshots of specific moments in recent history with the potential to shed light on current urgent debates, offering visionary and unexpected perspectives on the past and the imminent future. Featuring art by Etel Adnan, Mounira Al Solh, Max Beckmann, Aenne Biermann, David Claerbout, Peter Doig, Katharina Grosse, On Kawara, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Maria Lassnig, Albert Renger-Patzsch, and Jeff Wall.

#PinaMixAndMatch

Kindergarten Antonio Sant'Elia, 1932 , 1998

1-channel video, black and white, without sound, 10 min., loop
Acquired in 2010 by PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.
Inv. Nr. GV 207

Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen – Sammlung Moderne Kunst in the Pinakothek der Moderne Munich
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022

Details   

August Macke

Mädchen unter Bäumen (Girls under trees), 1914

Oil on canvas, 119,5 x 159 cm
Acquired in 1964 as a donation from Sofie and Emanuel Fohn
Inv. Nr. Inv. no. 13466

Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen - Sammlung Moderne Kunst in the Pinakothek der Moderne Munich

Photo: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen

Details   

Current information: room closures

In the course of setting up the exhibition Mix & Match, there will be temporary room closures at the Pinakothek der Moderne until summer 2022. Step by step with the rehanging, the rooms will be reopened. This will give you an insight throughout the year into the making of our major anniversary exhibition "MIX & MATCH. Rediscovering the Collection," which will open on September 14. We look forward to your visits! 

The following rooms are currently accessible:

  • Rooms 1-4, 17 | "MIX & MATCH  
    with works by Ida Applebroog, Max Beckmann, Joseph Beuys, Aenne Biermann, David Claerbout, Lovis Corinth, Rineke Dijkstra, Otto Freundlich, Tadeusz Kantor, Paul Klee, Jochen Klein, Carl Lohse, August Macke, Martin Parr, Pablo Picasso, August Sander, Rosemarie Trockel, Adolf Ziegler,and others. 
  • Rooms 10-14 | with works by Georg Baselitz, Joseph Beuys, Florence Henri, Jenny Holzer, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Käthe Kollwitz, Germaine Krull, Maria Lassnig, Franz Marc, Paul Pfeiffer, Pablo Picasso, Gerhard Richter, Thomas Steffl, Amelie von Wulffen, and others
  • Rooms 18-20 | Joseph Beuys (room 18 and 19 accessible until probably 26.06.2022) 
  • Rooms 27-33, 35 | Slavs and Tatars, Haubitz & Zoche, Dan Flavin, Anselm Kiefer, Palermo, Robert Motherwell, Willem de Kooning, Franz Josef Kline, Robert Rauschenberg, Cy Twombly (from 20.06.2022 room 30a will be closed until further notice)
  • Room 34 | "Emil Nolde. My Way of Painting..." 

On view soon:

  • Rooms 5-9, 15-16 | "MIX & MATCH" | probably from mid of June 
    with works by Georg Baselitz, Giorgio de Chirico, Katharina Grosse, William Eggleston, Tracey Emin, Florence Henri, Axel Hütte, Wassily Kandinsky, Germaine Krull, Zoe Leonard, Olaf Metzel, Nicholas Nixon, Neo Rauch, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Fritz Winter, and others

Upcoming exhibitions: www.pinakothek.de

Curator's Statements

The curators of the Sammlung Moderne Kunst at the Pinakothek der Moderne (from left to right): Franziska Kunze, Tatjana Schäfer, Oliver Kase, Judith Csiki, Bernhart Schwenk and Simone Förster (Photo: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, Elisabeth Greil)

Oliver Kase, Chief Curator of Modern Art / Director of Collections Pinakothek der Moderne / Sammlung Moderne Kunst:

The form of exhibition previously customary for masterpieces from the collection of Modernism, generally celebrated as collection highlights in over a dozen rooms of the Pinakothek der Moderne, is now giving way to an experimental dialogue with other media and epochs from a twenty-first-century perspective. I hope and anticipate that breaking down these barriers will spark surprise, curiosity, and passion among our visitors, and inspire a readiness to embrace reflection and criticism. The method of presentation is more akin to the current multimedia-driven reception habits of our era than room after room of paintings in predictable sequence could ever be.

Simone Förster, Chief Curator Stiftung Ann und Jürgen Wilde:

Since the 1960s, collectors and gallerists Ann and Jürgen Wilde have dedicated their work and commitment to achieving the recognition of photography as art. This was one of the factors resulting in the affiliation of their foundation to the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen in 2010. The involvement of the Ann and Jürgen Wilde Foundation in the rehanging of the Sammlung Moderne Kunst, an experiment crossing genres and epochs, is the fulfillment of a longstanding vision. I look forward to photography taking its place as a further voice in the many-languaged dialogue between the artworks. In some spaces it may merely interpose a quiet comment, in others toss a loud thesis into the debate of the arts.

Tatjana Schaefer, Assistant curator for Art since 1945, focus on American art:

Unlike pictorial works, which throw open a window onto an illusory space, works of minimal art are located in the same physical space as their viewers. This discrepancy engenders a challenge when minimal art is combined with works based on a different method of perception. However, the spatial experience of minimal art is neither limited nor impeded thereby. Quite the opposite, in fact; the works of minimal art placed at various points throughout the exhibition help spectators to repeatedly ground themselves in the here and now, allowing them to consciously move between immersion in visual worlds and the realization of their own presence within the museum space.

Bernhart Schwenk, Chief Curator of Contemporary Art:

Every epoch reflects the present in its art. For one thing, every work was contemporary at the time of its creation; for another, even older art cannot be understood from any other perspective than that of our own age. In my view, the embrace of that now in every work of art is the great attraction of a non-chronological and transgenerational exhibition drawn from our collection. Furthermore, there are connecting themes which have always held unbroken significance for artists, irrespective of the historical, social, or political situation of the time, and which will continue to do so. Art always strives to render conflicts tangible, establish balance, or find metaphors for existential questions, albeit in a different way in each different age.

Franziska Kunze, Chief Curator of Photography and Time-Based Media:

It is naturally a challenge to plan the conservationally necessary changes to photographic works at specific scheduled intervals, constantly reevaluating the focal theme of the room by making powerful choices, yet always mindful of the adjacent works. At the same time, I regard this as a great opportunity. Museums can only ever display an average of three percent of the works they own; visitors see only the tip of the iceberg while countless more works lie slumbering in the storages. Here I can draw on unlimited resources, activate ever-varying aspects of our inventory, and rediscover my own collection area through the eyes of the other curators during our joint planning.

Judith Csiki, Curator Written Art Collection:

As a public art collection, we are inevitably involved in shaping the canon of a particular epoch. This canon formation necessarily generates weightings in favor of specific artists, artistic movements, media, and cultural groups on the one hand and desiderata on the other. The Sammlung Moderne Kunst is dominated by a focus on outstanding and internationally known Western artists; over the past several years this focus has been broadened by the acquisition of works from non-Western cultures, in addition to a major contribution made by a partnership with the Written Art Collection. The focal theme of the Written Art Collection, which takes in calligraphic, gestural and informal art, parallels the museum’s inventory in diverse ways and thus constantly opens up new perspectives on the individual categories of the collection.

MIX & MATCH. DIE SAMMLUNG NEU ENTDECKEN

Mix & Match: August Macke & David Claerbout

August Macke, Mädchen unter Bäumen, 1914
Foto: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen

David Claerbout, Kindergarten Antonio Sant’Elia, 1932, 1998
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2022

Details   

MIX & MATCH. DIE SAMMLUNG NEU ENTDECKEN

Pinakothek der Moderne | Kunst
Saal 1-4, Saal 17 (Schrittweise Öffnung von 25 Räumen bis September 2022)

 ‐ 

Im Zuge der Einrichtung der Ausstellung Mix & Match kommt es bis Sommer 2022 zu vorübergehenden Saalschließungen in der Pinakothek der Moderne im Bereich Sammlung Moderne Kunst. Schrittweise mit der Neueinrichtung werden die Säle wieder geöffnet. Sie erhalten somit über das ganze Jahr Einblick in die Entstehung unserer großen Jubiläumsausstellung „MIX & MATCH. Die Sammlung neu entdecken“, die am 14. September eröffnet wird. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Besuch! 

Aktuell sind folgende Säle zugänglich:

  • Saal 1-4, 17 | „MIX & MATCH“ 
    mit Werken von Ida Applebroog, Max Beckmann, Joseph Beuys, Aenne Biermann, David Claerbout, Lovis Corinth, Rineke Dijkstra, Otto Freundlich, Tadeusz Kantor, Paul Klee, Jochen Klein, Carl Lohse, August Macke, Martin Parr, Pablo Picasso, August Sander, Rosemarie Trockel, Adolf Ziegler u.a. 
  • Saal 18-20 | Joseph Beuys 
  • Saal 27-33, 35 | Slavs and Tatars, Haubitz & Zoche, Dan Flavin, Anselm Kiefer, Palermo, Robert Motherwell, Willem de Kooning, Franz Josef Kline, Robert Rauschenberg, Cy Twombly  
  • Saal 34 | „Emil Nolde. Meine Art zu malen…“ 

Demnächst zu sehen:

  • Saal 5-16 | “MIX & MATCH” | voraussichtlich ab Mitte / Ende Mai  
    mit Werken von Etel Adnan, Georg Baselitz, Joseph Beuys, Giorgio de Chirico, Robert Delauney, Tracey Emin, Max Ernst, Katharina Grosse, Hans Hartung, Susan Hefuna, K.H. Hödicke, Jenny Holzer, Axel Hütte, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Oskar Kokoschka, Käthe Kollwitz, Germaine Krull, Maria Lassnig, Zoe Leonard, Franz Marc, Henri Matisse, Jonathan Meese, Otto Mueller, Olaf Metzel, Richard Oelze, Paul Pfeiffer, Pablo Picasso, Sigmar Polke, Neo Rauch, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Gerhard Richter, Emy Roeder, Thomas Steffl, Fritz Winter, Amelie von Wulffen u.a. 

Anlässlich des 20-jährigen Jubiläums der Pinakothek der Moderne konzipieren die Kurator:innen der Sammlung Moderne Kunst gemeinsam die Neuhängung der Sammlung unter dem Titel MIX & MATCH. Diese von Neugierde und Experimentierfreude geprägte Präsentation lädt in epochen- und medienübergreifenden Themenräumen und unkonventionellen Gegenüberstellungen zur Neuentdeckung der Sammlung ein.

Ausgehend von Schlüsselwerken aus den Bereichen Gemälde, Skulptur, Fotografie, Videokunst, Installation und Grafik werden für die Gesellschaft des 21. Jahrhunderts relevante Themen wie Gemeinschaft, Migration, Arbeit, Umwelt oder Gewalt und Konflikt beleuchtet. Aber auch kunsthistorisch traditionsreiche Motive wie der Akt, das Selbstporträt oder der Wald bis hin zu Kategorien wie das Groteske, Spirituelle und Irrationale werden thematisiert.

In 25 Räumen sind etwa 300 Werke und serielle Arbeiten aus 120 Jahren Kunstgeschichte zu sehen, die aufgrund ihrer zeitlichen Verortung und mit Blick auf aktuelle Debatten im Schulterschluss – frei nach dem Motto MIX & MATCH – visionäre wie auch unerwartete Vor- und Rückblicke zulassen. Zu sehen sind u.a. Werke von Etel Adnan, Mounira Al Solh, Max Beckmann, Aenne Biermann, David Claerbout, Peter Doig, Katharina Grosse, On Kawara, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Maria Lassnig, Albert Renger-Patzsch und Jeff Wall.

#PinaMixAndMatch

Kindergarten Antonio Sant' Elia, 1932, 1998

1-Kanal-Video, Schwarz-Weiß, ohne Ton, 10 Min., Loop
2010 erworben von PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.
Inv. Nr. GV 207

Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen - Sammlung Moderne Kunst in der Pinakothek der Moderne München
© VG Bild-Kunst Bonn, 2022

Details   

August Macke

Mädchen unter Bäumen, 1914

Öl auf Leinwand, 119,5 x 159 cm
1964 als Schenkung von Sofie und Emanuel Fohn erworben
Inv. Nr. Inv. Nr. 13466

Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen - Sammlung Moderne Kunst in der Pinakothek der Moderne München

Foto: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen

Details   

Aktueller Hinweis: Temporäre Saalschließungen

Im Zuge der Einrichtung der Ausstellung Mix & Match kommt es bis Sommer 2022 zu vorübergehenden Saalschließungen in der Pinakothek der Moderne im Bereich Sammlung Moderne Kunst. Schrittweise mit der Neueinrichtung werden die Säle wieder geöffnet. Sie erhalten somit über das ganze Jahr Einblick in die Entstehung unserer großen Jubiläumsausstellung „MIX & MATCH. Die Sammlung neu entdecken“, die am 14. September eröffnet wird. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Besuche! 

Aktuell sind folgende Säle zugänglich: 

  • Saal 1-4, 17 | „MIX & MATCH“  
    mit Werken von Ida Applebroog, Max Beckmann, Joseph Beuys, Aenne Biermann, David Claerbout, Lovis Corinth, Rineke Dijkstra, Otto Freundlich, Tadeusz Kantor, Paul Klee, Jochen Klein, Carl Lohse, August Macke, Martin Parr, Pablo Picasso, August Sander, Rosemarie Trockel, Adolf Ziegler u.a. 
  • Saal 18-20 | Joseph Beuys 
     
  • Saal 27-33, 35 | Slavs and Tatars, Haubitz & Zoche, Dan Flavin, Anselm Kiefer, Palermo, Robert Motherwell, Willem de Kooning, Franz Josef Kline, Robert Rauschenberg, Cy Twombly  
     
  • Saal 34 | „Emil Nolde. Meine Art zu malen…“ 

Demnächst zu sehen:

  • Saal 5-16 | “MIX & MATCH” | voraussichtlich ab Mitte / Ende Mai  
    mit Werken von Etel Adnan, Georg Baselitz, Joseph Beuys, Giorgio de Chirico, Robert Delauney, Tracey Emin, Max Ernst, Katharina Grosse, Hans Hartung, Susan Hefuna, K.H. Hödicke, Jenny Holzer, Axel Hütte, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Oskar Kokoschka, Käthe Kollwitz, Germaine Krull, Maria Lassnig, Zoe Leonard, Franz Marc, Henri Matisse, Jonathan Meese, Otto Mueller, Olaf Metzel, Richard Oelze, Paul Pfeiffer, Pablo Picasso, Sigmar Polke, Neo Rauch, Albert Renger-Patzsch, Gerhard Richter, Emy Roeder, Thomas Steffl, Fritz Winter, Amelie von Wulffen u.a

Kommende Ausstellungen: www.pinakothek.de

Statements des Teams der Sammlung Moderne Kunst

Die Kurator:innen der Sammlung Moderne Kunst in der Pinakothek der Moderne (v.l.n.r.): Franziska Kunze, Tatjana Schäfer, Oliver Kase, Judith Csiki, Bernhart Schwenk und Simone Förster (Foto: Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, Elisabeth Greil)

Oliver Kase, Sammlungsleiter Klassische Moderne / Sammlungsdirektor Sammlung Moderne Kunst:

Die bislang vorherrschende Präsentation von Meisterwerken der Klassischen Moderne, üblicherweise in mehr als einem Dutzend Sälen der Pinakothek der Moderne als Schwerpunkt der Sammlung gefeiert, weicht nun dem experimentellen Dialog mit anderen Medien und Epochen aus dem Blickwinkel des 21. Jahrhunderts. Durch diese Grenzüberschreitungen verspreche ich mir, das Publikum zu überraschen, Neugierde und Leidenschaft zu entfachen, es in seiner Reflexions- und Kritikbereitschaft anzuspornen. Den aktuellen multimedialen Rezeptionsgewohnheiten unserer Zeit entspricht diese Präsentation eher als eine voraussagbare Abfolge von Gemälderäumen.

Simone Förster, Sammlungsleiterin Stiftung Ann und Jürgen Wilde:

Das Sammler:innen- und Galerist:innenpaar Ann und Jürgen Wilde hat sich seit den 1960er-Jahren in seiner Arbeit und seinem Engagement für die Anerkennung der Fotografie als Kunst eingesetzt. Nicht zuletzt führte dies 2010 zur Angliederung ihrer Stiftung an die Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen. Mit der Beteiligung der Stiftung Ann und Jürgen Wilde an der gattungs- und epochenübergreifenden Neuhängung der Sammlung Moderne Kunst erfüllt sich in diesem Experiment also auch ein lang gehegtes Anliegen. Ich freue mich auf die Fotografie als eine weitere Stimme im vielsprachigen Dialog der Kunstwerke. Vielleicht wird sie in manchem Raum nur eine leise Anmerkung machen, in einem anderen hingegen eine laute These in die Debatte der Künste einwerfen.

Tatjana Schaefer, Assistenzkuratorin für Kunst ab 1945, Schwerpunkt amerikanische Kunst:

Im Gegensatz zu Bildwerken, die ein Fenster in einen Illusionsraum eröffnen, behaupten sich Minimal-Objekte im selben Raum wie die Betrachtenden. Aus dieser Diskrepanz resultiert die Herausforderung, Minimal Art mit Werken zu mischen, hinter denen ein anderes Bildverständnis steht. Die räumliche Erfahrbarkeit der Minimal Art wird dadurch aber nicht eingeschränkt oder ausgebremst. Ganz im Gegenteil. So verhelfen die an verschiedenen Punkten der Ausstellung platzierten Minimal-Werke dazu, die Besucher:innen immer wieder auch im Hier und Jetzt zu verorten, das Publikum also bewusst pendeln zu lassen zwischen dem Eintauchen in Bildwelten und der eigenen Vergegenwärtigung im Museumsraum.

Bernhart Schwenk, Sammlungsleiter Kunst ab 1960 und Gegenwartskunst:

In der Kunst sämtlicher Epochen spiegelt sich die Gegenwart. Zum einen war jedes Werk im Augenblick seiner Entstehung zeitgenössisch, zum anderen können wir auch ältere Kunst nicht anders verstehen als aus der Perspektive unserer Zeit. Die Annahme dieses Jetzt in jeglichem Kunstwerk ist aus meiner Sicht der große Reiz einer nicht chronologisch geordneten, generationsübergreifenden Ausstellung unserer Sammlung. Zudem gibt es verbindende Themen, die für Künstlerinnen und Künstler – unabhängig von der jeweiligen historischen, gesellschaftlichen oder politischen Situation – durchgehend von Bedeutung waren und sein werden. Kunst versucht immer, Konflikte spürbar zu machen, Balancen herzustellen oder Metaphern für existenzielle Fragen zu finden, wenngleich in jeder Zeit anders.

Franziska Kunze, Sammlungsleiterin Fotografie und Zeitbasierte Medien:

Natürlich ist es eine Herausforderung, den konservatorisch notwendigen Wechsel von fotografischen Werken in einem bestimmten zeitlichen Rhythmus einzuplanen, das Thema des Raumes immer wieder aufs Neue durch eine starke Auswahl zu diskutieren und dabei die benachbarten Arbeiten nicht aus dem Blick zu verlieren. Gleichzeitig sehe ich darin aber eine große Chance. Im Schnitt können Museen nur drei Prozent der Werke, die sie besitzen, ausstellen. Es ist die Spitze des Eisbergs, die sich vor den Besucher:innen auftut, während im Depot ungleich mehr Werke schlummern. Hier kann ich nun aus dem Vollen schöpfen, den Bestand unter verschiedenen Aspekten aktivieren und beim gemeinsamen Planen meinen Sammlungsbereich durch die Augen der anderen Kurator:innen noch einmal neu entdecken.

Judith Csiki, Kuratorin Written Art Collection:

Als öffentliche Kunstsammlung ist man unweigerlich an der Kanonbildung einer bestimmten Epoche beteiligt. Diese Kanonbildung erzeugt notwendigerweise Gewichtungen von Künstler:innen, Kunstströmungen, Medien und Kulturkreisen, wodurch an anderer Stelle wiederum Desiderate entstehen. Die Sammlung Moderne Kunst ist geprägt von einem Fokus auf die herausragenden, international bekannten Künstler:innen aus dem Westen. Seit mehreren Jahren wird dieser Fokus um Werke aus nichtwestlichen Kulturen erweitert, wozu auch die seit 2019 bestehende Zusammenarbeit mit der Written Art Collection einen wesentlichen Beitrag leistet. Ihr thematischer Akzent, der von kalligrafischer über gestische bis hin zu informeller Kunst reicht, korrespondiert auf vielfältige Weise mit dem Museumsbestand und eröffnet dadurch stets neue Perspektiven auf die einzelnen Sammlungsbereiche.