Doerner Institut

Work

At the heart of the work undertaken by the e today is the care of the holdings of the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, whose collections range from fourteenth-century to contemporary art. A further emphasis of our work is technical research and the analysis of historical painting methods and materials as well as the development of physical and chemical methods for examining art objects. The institute is also responsible for preventive conservation related to the museum buildings. Through its combination of practical restoration, day-to-day conservation treatments and internationally recognised scientific research, the Doerner Institut makes an important contribution to the preservation of cultural heritage.

Information on current and past projects can be found on the website of the Doerner Institut. 

News - research on the œuvre of Emil Nolde

Emil Nolde, Party, 1911, on canvas, 91,5 x 106 cm © Nolde Stiftung Seebüll

I would so much like my work to grow out of the material …
Art-technological research on the œuvre of Emil Nolde

Between 2018 and 2021, a joint project funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) will be devoted to the painting technique and the materials used by the Expressionist artist Emil Nolde. The partners in this multidisciplinary research project are the Doerner Institut of the Bavarian State Painting Collections in Munich (co-ordination), the Stiftung Seebüll Ada and Emil Nolde (Nolde Foundation Seebüll), and the Hamburger Kunsthalle, in co-operation with the University of Hamburg and the Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Dresden.

Emil Nolde (born Hans Emil Hansen, 1867–1956) is undisputedly one of the best-known and most important representatives of German Expressionism. The Nolde Foundation Seebüll, as the manager of the Nolde estate, looks after the artist's former home and workplace, including an extensive collection of Nolde’s works, as well as an archive of about 25,000 documents and other items. Now, through a technological evaluation of the artist’s archive and the studio contents, as well as extensive imaging, analytical and other technological investigations of around 50 paintings from the collections in Seebüll, Hamburg and Munich, Emil Nolde’s techniques and materials are being explored for the first time. Although the study of painting techniques has successfully led to the clarification of a wide variety of art-historical and cultural-historical questions in numerous artists of the Modern period, the systematic, art-technological recording of large complexes of works is still rare. The project will thus broaden the art-historical research into the ‘invisible’ art-technological perspective on work processes, the choice of paints and chronological developments in the course of Nolde’s long artistic career. In addition to a technical symposium, the project is planned to include a presentation of important research results in a modular form of exhibition.

History

The Doerner Institut was founded in 1937 in Munich as an independent ‘Reichsinstitut für Maltechnik’ (Reich Institute of Painting Techniques). Its present name comes from the painter and art analyst Max Doerner (1870–1939), professor at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, who garnered international acclaim for his work The Materials of the Artist and Their Use in Painting, first published in German in 1921. The institute, its laboratory, and its technical research department, which also carried out restoration work, became affiliated with the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen in 1946. The conservation and restoration departments of the Doerner Institut and the Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen were fully merged in 1977. 

publications

The Doerner Institut has published numerous works over the past decades which are part of the standard body of literature on conservation-restoration, the use of technology to analyse artworks, and conservation science.

A complete list of all publications and further information on the institute’s history and projects can be found on the website of the Doerner Institut. 

Contact

Doerner Institut
Barer Straße 29
D 80799 München

Sekretariat: Frau Ruth Krauß
T +49 89 23805-155
F +49 89 23805-156
info@doernerinstitut.de

Doerner Institut

Aufgaben

Im Zentrum der heutigen Tätigkeit des Doerner Institutes steht die Betreuung sämtlicher Bestände der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen, die vom 14. Jahrhundert bis hin zur zeitgenössischen Kunst reichen. Weitere Schwerpunkte liegen auf dem Gebiet der kunsttechnologischen Erforschung historischer Maltechniken und -materialien sowie in der Entwicklung von physikalisch-chemischen Methoden zur Untersuchung von Kunstobjekten. Im Rahmen der Präventiven Konservierung nimmt die Beschäftigung mit Museumsbauten bedeutenden Raum ein. Insbesondere durch die enge Verbindung von praktischer Restaurierung, täglicher konservatorischer Museumsarbeit und international anerkannter naturwissenschaftlicher Forschung trägt das Institut wesentlich zur Erhaltung von Kulturgut bei.

Informationen über aktuelle und vergangene Projekte erhalten Sie auf der Website des Doerner Institutes

Aktuelles

Emil Nolde, Gesellschaft, 1911, auf Leinwand, 91,5 x 106 cm © Nolde Stiftung Seebüll
 

Ich will so gerne dass mein Werk aus dem Material hervorwachse…
Kunsttechnologische Forschungen zum Werk Emil Noldes“

Zwischen 2018 und 2021 widmet sich ein vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördertes Verbundprojekt der Maltechnik und den Künstlermaterialien des Expressionisten Emil Nolde. Partner des multidisziplinären Forschungsvorhabens sind das Doerner Institut der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen, München (Koordination), die Stiftung Seebüll Ada und Emil Nolde und die Hamburger Kunsthalle in Kooperation mit der Universität Hamburg und der Hochschule der Bildenden Künste Dresden.

Emil Nolde (eigentlich Hans Emil Hansen, 1867–1956) zählt unbestritten zu den bekanntesten und wichtigsten Vertretern des deutschen Expressionis­mus. Die Nolde-Stiftung beherbergt als Nachlassverwalterin am ehemaligen Wohn- und Arbeitsort des Künstlers eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Werken Noldes, zugleich ein etwa 25.000 Dokumente und Realia umfassendes Archiv. Durch eine maltechnische Auswertung des Künstlerarchivs und des Ateliernachlasses sowie umfangreiche technologische, bildgebende und analytische Untersuchungen an rund 50 Gemälden aus den Sammlungen in Seebüll, Hamburg und München werden erstmals Arbeitsweise und Künstlermaterialien Emil Noldes erforscht. Obwohl die Beschäftigung mit der Maltechnik bei zahlreichen Künstlern der Klassischen Moderne erfolgreich zur Klärung vielfältiger kunst­wissenschaftlicher und kultur­historischer Fragestellungen geführt hat, ist die systematische, kunsttechnologische Erfassung von Werkkomplexen immer noch selten. Das Projekt wird somit die kunsthistorische Forschung um die „unsichtbare“ kunsttechnologische Perspektive zu Werkprozessen, der Farbwahl oder zeitlicher Entwicklungen im Laufe von Noldes langem Künstlerleben erweitern. Neben einem Fachsymposium ist als Projektabschluss eine Präsentation wichtiger Forschungsergebnisse in einer modularen Ausstellungsform geplant.

 

Geschichte

Das Doerner Institut wurde 1937 als eigenständiges Reichsinstitut für Maltechnik in München gegründet. Namensgeber war der Maler und Maltechniker Max Doerner (1870 – 1939), Professor an der Kunstakademie München, der sich mit seinem 1921 erstmals erschienenen Werk „Malmaterial und seine Verwendung im Bilde“ eine hohe internationale Reputation erworben hatte. 1946 wurde das Institut mit seinem Labor und seiner maltechnischen Abteilung, die auch Restaurierungen ausführte, den Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen angegliedert. Die Restaurierungsabteilung des Doerner Institutes und die der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen wurden 1977 endgültig zusammengelegt. 

Publikationen

Das Doerner Institut hat in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten zahlreiche Publikationen verfasst, die zur Standardliteratur der Restaurierung, Kunsttechnologie und Konservierungswissenschaft gehören.

Eine vollständige Auflistung aller Publikationen und viele andere Informationen zur Geschichte und zu Projekten des Institutes finden Sie auf der Website des Doerner Institutes.

Kontakt

Das Doerner Institut ist Teil der Bayerischen Staatsgemäldesammlungen.

Seine Adresse lautet:

Doerner Institut
Barer Straße 29
D 80799 München

Sekretariat: Frau Ruth Krauß
T +49.89. 23 80 5-155
F +49.89. 23 80 5-156
info@doernerinstitut.de